Banana-oatmeal pancakes

At least once or twice a week I have a few hours to myself in the morning during which I can take my time to get ready for my day. And my very most favourite thing to do on those mornings is to make breakfast.

I love breakfast, I love cooking, I love plating something fueling and yummy and nourishing and making it look pretty, I love taking my time. Over the past few weeks these banana-oatmeal pancakes have been one of my go-to recipes on days like today. As usual I let Pinterest inspire me, and came up with this recipe on a day when we were low on groceries. What could I use that we already had in the house, that would offer me an easy, healthy option that tastes good too?

Why do I love them? They are super-duper healthy, they fill me up and fuel me up, they can be vegan, they only have 5 ingredients, and they are delicious!


 

You will need (1 serving; or 3 pancakes):

  • one large, ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 3-4 tbsp almond milk (could be soy or regular milk too, whichever you like)
  • cinnamon, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • (coconut oil for the pan)

How to make these yummy-for-your-tummy pancakes:

  1. Smash your banana with a fork in a bowl.
  2. Add the rolled oats, milk, cinnamon and salt to the smashed banana and mix together until well incorporated. (At this stage it will look like a bowl of cooked oatmeal.)
  3. Heat a pan (or griddle) on medium-low heat and add a touch of coconut oil to avoid stuck pancakes.
  4. Spoon some of your batter (approx. 1/3 of your mix) into the center of the pan, and let cook for 3-6 minutes (until golden brown). Flip, and repeat for second side.
  5. Plate your pancakes into a cute stack and top with your favourite ingredients.

 

I have noticed that cook time will vary depending on how ripe my banana is. All of the ingredient measurements are guidelines, as you may want to add more oatmeal if you have a very ripe banana or use more milk if you have a less ripe banana.

Some of my favourite toppings are maple syrup, raspberries, crumbled bacon (obviously this is not a vegan option), chocolate chips — a note about the chocolate chips: do not stir into the batter, sprinkle your cooked pancakes with the chocolate chips when plated instead (this avoids a huge burnt chocolate mess in the pan).

And voilà, that’s it! You have got a breakfast rich in antioxidants, potassium, calcium and iron that will keep you full and nourished. (P.S. Look up cinnamon, it is good for you for a million reasons!)

Try them out, give me your thoughts. Don’t have time to make them in the morning? Try them out as an easy humpday-breakfast-for-dinner option 😉

 

∞ melly

Leave a Reply

